top of page
  • Writer's pictureJ. Wilson

Here is a list of organizations and programs that provide assistance with utilities in the state of Iowa:


1. Iowa Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP): Offers financial assistance to low-income households for heating and cooling costs. [Iowa LIHEAP](https://humanrights.iowa.gov/dcaa/liheap)

2. MidAmerican Energy - Iowa Energy Assistance Program: Provides energy assistance to qualified low-income customers. [MidAmerican Energy Assistance Program](https://www.midamericanenergy.com/iowa-energy-assistance-program.aspx)

3. Alliant Energy - Hometown Care Energy Fund: Offers financial assistance for heating and cooling costs to eligible customers. [Alliant Energy Hometown Care Energy Fund](https://www.alliantenergy.com/CommunityAndStewardship/HometownCare)

4. Community Action Agencies (CAA) in Iowa: Many CAAs provide utility assistance as part of their services. Locate your local Community Action Agency for assistance. [Iowa Community Action Agencies](https://www.iowacommunityaction.org/)

5. Iowa Department of Human Services - Emergency Assistance: Provides emergency assistance for eligible households facing utility shut-offs. [Iowa DHS Emergency Assistance](https://dhs.iowa.gov/emergency-assistance)

6. Iowa Community Action Association (ICAA): Offers resources and assistance through various community action agencies across the state. [Iowa Community Action Association](https://www.iowacommunityaction.org/)

7. Operation Threshold - Cedar Valley Community Action Agency: Provides energy assistance and weatherization services. [Operation Threshold](https://operationthreshold.org/)

8. Salvation Army - Iowa Division: Offers emergency utility assistance programs to eligible individuals and families. [Salvation Army - Iowa Division](https://centralusa.salvationarmy.org/desmoines/)

9. Iowa Legal Aid - Utility Assistance: Provides legal assistance and resources for individuals facing utility-related issues. [Iowa Legal Aid](https://www.iowalegalaid.org/)

10. Good Samaritan Society - Iowa Energy Fund: Assists low-income individuals and families with energy bills. [Good Samaritan Society - Iowa Energy Fund](https://www.good-sam.com/)

11. Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines: Supports various community initiatives, including those addressing basic needs like utilities. [Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines](https://www.desmoinesfoundation.org/)

12. Crisis Intervention Services - Emergency Housing and Utility Assistance: Provides emergency assistance for housing and utilities. [Crisis Intervention Services](https://www.cishelps.org/)

13. Operation: New View Community Action Agency: Offers energy assistance and weatherization programs. [Operation: New View](https://www.operationnewview.org/)

14. Upper Des Moines Opportunity - Energy Assistance Program: Provides energy assistance services in northwest Iowa. [Upper Des Moines Opportunity](https://www.upperdesmoinesopportunity.org/)

15. United Way of Central Iowa: Connects individuals with various resources, including utility assistance programs. [United Way of Central Iowa](https://www.unitedwaydm.org/)

Before seeking assistance, it's advisable to contact the respective organizations or programs directly to understand their eligibility criteria and application processes.



762 views0 comments
bottom of page